American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Life Fellow.

  • AAAS, elected ENC of Section M, Engineering, 2006-2009, 2010-2012.
  • Chair, Session M Engineering, Electorate Nominating Committee, 2006-2007.
  • Chair-Elect, 2004-2005; Chair, 2005-2006, Retiring Chair, 2006-2007, AAAS Engineering.
  • AAAS Fellow Nominations Committee Member, 2008-2010.
  • Chair, Session M Engineering, Electorate Nominating Committee, 2003-2004.
  • Elected Electorate Nominating Committee on Engineering, Member, 2001-2004.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Life Fellow, Honorary Member.

  • Chair, Kate Gleason Award Committee, ASME CoH, 2017-2019.
  • Chair, Nancy Deloye Fitzroy and Roland V. Fitzroy Medal Committee, ASME CoH, 2019-2022.
  • ASME Honorary Member, 2016.
  • ASME Committee on Honors, 2009-2012, 2012-2015; Chair, 2014-2015.
  • ASME representative to AAAS, 2008-2010.
  • Technical Program Chair, Heat Transfer Conference, San Francisco, CA, July 17-22, 2005.
  • Associate Editor, J. Heat Transfer, 2001-2004.
  • Chair, ASME Heat Transfer Division (HTD) K-16 Committee on Heat Transfer in Electronic Equipment, 2000-2003.
  • Chair, ASME HTD K-3 Honors and Awards Committee, 2000-2001.
  • Member, Executive Committee, ASME Electronic & Photonic Packaging Division (EEPD), 2001-2004.
  • Vice-Chair, ASME K-16 HTD Committee on Heat Transfer in Electronic Equipment, 1997-2000.
  • Member, ASME K-3 HTD Honors and Awards Committee, 1998-2001.
  • Chair, ASME HTD Committee on Membership Development and Honors Nominations, 1996-1998.
  • Member, ASME K-8 Committee on Theory and Fundamental Research, 1994-2000, ASME K-16 Committee on Heat Transfer in Electronic Equipment, 1991-present, ASME HTD K-22 Committee on Visualization, 1999-2002, ASME K-20 Committee Computational Heat Transfer, 1994-1999.
  • Member, ASME Board on Minorities and Women, 1997-2005.

American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), Fellow.

  • ASEE-EDC Executive Board Director, 2007-2009; Diversity Committee Member, 2009-present, Nominating Committee, 2012-present.
  • Committee on Multidisciplinary Engineering Member, 2003-present.
  • Ralph Coats Roe Award Selection Committee Member, 2002-2005.
  • Women In Engineering Division WIED Member, 2002-present.
  • CMU Campus Representative, CMU, 1993 to 1997.

Institute of Corporate Directors, Director (ICD.D).

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Fellow.

  • IEEE ITherm, Executive Committee, 2006-2020.
  • IEEE ECTC/ITherm 2019, Panel Chair, Unleashing the Power of Diversity in our Workforce, May 2019.
  • ITherm Panel Moderator: Enhancing Participation of Women and Underrepresented Minorities in Engineering, May 2017.
  • Associate Editor, IEEE Trans. Components, Packaging Technology, 1995-present.
  • Member, IEEE CPMT Society, TC-9 Committee on Thermal Management & ThermoMechanical Design, 1996-2008.
  • General Chair, ITherm 2002, IEEE/ASME Eighth Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena and Emerging Technologies in Electronic Systems, San Diego, CA, May 29-June 1, 2002.

National Academy of Engineering (NAE), Member.

  • NAE Mechanical Engineering Section 10, Nominating Committee, Vice-Chair 2018-2019, Chair 2019-2020.
  • NAE Membership Policy Committee, 2019-2022.
  • Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine (CWSEM), The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Member, 2017-present.
  • EngineerGirl Committee Member, 2017-present.
  • Brazil-US Frontiers of Science and Engineering, Co-Chair, Rio de Janeiro, March 16-19, 2014.
  • NAE Awards Selection Committee, 2013-2015.
  • NAE Committee on Membership, 2011.
  • NAE Mechanical Engineering Peer Committee, 2008-2011; Vice-Chair, 2009-2010; Chair, 2010-2011.
  • NRC Panel Reviewer, 2006, 2007, 2009.

Pi Tau Sigma, Life Member ’01, Honorary Member. 

  • Faculty Advisor, CMU Chapter, 1994-1996.


Professional Engineer License, 100139829.

Royal Society of Canada (RSC), Fellow.

  • RSC Committee on Fellow Election, 2011-2012, 2019-present.

Senior Women Academic Administrators of Canada, SWAAC, Member.

Sigma Xi, Life Member.

  • Judge, 5th to 12th Annual Research Symposium for Undergraduates and Meeting of the Minds, Sigma Xi CMU Chapter, 1995-2002.
  • Electorate Nominating Committee, 1994- 1995.

Society of Automotive Engineering (SAE), Member.  

  • Judge, Eighth to Tenth Annual SAE Robotic Walking Machine Decathlon.

Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE), Life Member.

Society of Women Engineers (SWE), Life Member.

  • SWE Achievement Award Judging Panel, 2012-2014.
  • President, Pittsburgh Chapter, 2004-2005; Past President, 2005-2006.
  • Adviser CMU Team, 1999 Boeing Team Tech National Student Competition.
  • Engineering Your Future, SWE two-week summer workshop for middle and high school female students, Workshop Instructor and Co-founder, every July since 1993, 1993-2006.